US Representative Angie Craig Introduces Bipartisan Year-Round E15 Legislation with Unprecedented Industry and Family Farmer Support

  • Thursday, 08 December 2022 11:08

Congresswoman Angie Craig

Dec 8, 2022

WASHINGTON, DC –Yesterday, U.S. Representatives Angie Craig (D-MN) and Adrian Smith (R-NE) introduced the Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act of 2022, bipartisan, bicameral legislation that would enable the year-round, nationwide sale of ethanol blends higher than 10%, helping to lower fuel prices and improve stability and certainty in the U.S. fuel market. This bill is supported by the largest unified group of farming, biofuels and oil companies to date.

Representative Craig’s bill is the House companion to the Senate bill introduced by Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Deb Fischer (R-NE) in late November.

“E15 creates opportunities for our family farmers, supports economic growth in rural America and lowers prices at the pump for Minnesotans – and ensuring this cheaper, biofuel alternative is available year-round is a win-win for all those involved in its production,”said Representative Craig.“I’m proud to have worked with Representative Smith on this bill to support our biofuel producers and farmers – and look forward to getting over the finish line.”

“Year-round E15 is a win-win as it boosts American energy independence and ensures greater affordability and opportunity for consumers as well as producers,”said Representative Smith. “E15 benefits the agriculture, energy, and transportation sectors. There’s no reason not to extend to E15 the same regulatory relief currently provided to E10, and I thank Senator Fischer for her leadership on this in the Senate and Rep. Craig for her partnership on our bill in the House.”

TheConsumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act of 2022 would extend the Reid vapor pressure (RVP) volatility waiver to ethanol blends above 10 percent to allow for the year-round, nationwide sale of E15. In addition, it would ensure consistency across the fuel markets and limit disruptions across the national fuel supply chain by prohibiting the removal of the 1-psi waiver for E10 ethanol.

In the House, theConsumer and Fuel Retailer Actis cosponsored by Representatives Cindy Axne (D-IA), Dusty Johnson (R-SD), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Mike Flood (R-NE), James R. Baird (R-IN), Tracey Mann (KS-1), Jim Banks (IN-03), Mary Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Ashley Hinson (IA-01),Vicky Hartzler (MO-4), Sam Graves (R-MO), Ken Buck (R-CO), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Brad Finstad (R-MN), Ron Estes (R-KS), Tim Ryan (D-OH), James Comer (R-KY) and Jason Smith (R-MO). 

The Senate companion to the bill is sponsored by the U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-IL), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Tina Smith (D-MN), John Thune (R-SD), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Ben Sasse (R-ND) and Mike Rounds (R-SD).

In Congress, Representative Craig has championed the issue of year-round availability of E15. This past year, she pushed the Administration to extend the availability of E15 during the summer to provide American consumers with access to a cheaper biofuel alternative at their local gas station. Additionally, she is also the lead sponsor of the House-passed Year-Round Fuel Choice Act,  which would permanently allow the summer sales of E15.

Read the original press release here