Lawmakers Urge Action On Year-Round E15

  • Thursday, 09 February 2023 13:38

A bipartisan group of lawmakers have sent a letter to the EPA and the White House Office of Management and Budget, urging both to "swiftly and diligently" implement regulatory action for year-round E15 in Midwestern states.

The letter asks the EPA and OMB to approve a petition by eight Midwestern governors to permanently remove the 1-psi volatility waiver to allow states to sell E15 year-round without restriction.

"Relying on an annual emergency waiver is not a permanent solution for fuel retailers, consumers, or the environment," the lawmakers said.

Among the lawmakers that signed the letter include Minnesota Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith, Rep. Angie Craig, Rep. Brad Finstad, Rep. Tom Emmer, Rep. Michelle Fishbach and Rep. Pete Stauber.

"By working swiflty to finalize the Governors' request, you will bring much needed certainty to our corn growers, fuel retailers, and consumers to enjoy clean-burning, lower cost benefits of year-round E15 through the 2023 summer driving season," the lawmakers said.

The letter from the lawmakers follows a similar letter from the attorneys general of Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin that was sent to the EPA last month.